Welcome2L 3.04 for FREESCO 0.3.x

Announcements of packages that are now released.

Postby dingetje » Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:13 pm

The login prompt of FREESCO is, well, kinda boring...no offence to Lightning, I hope! :unsure: :butbut:

With this package you can spice it up a bit and chooce from 3 different login screens (for console only)
I've tried to add it to the network login too, but it seems /etc/issue.net isn't used in FREESCO, oh well :(

Image
Image

The package is based on <a href='http://www.littleigloo.org/' target='_blank'>Welcome2L</a> (Welcome to Linux).

Code: Select all
pkg -i http://dingetje.homeip.net/packages/0.3.x/welcome2l_3.04_dingetje


Enjoy!
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Thasaidon » Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:00 am

I installed the package remote
so I can't test it until I get home.

However,
I did notice one thing...
the install went fine (as usual :D)

But when running rc_welcome2l setup
then changing the file (adding some things) and using ALT+S and ALT+X
I get this :
Code: Select all
/pkg/rc/rc_welcome2l: 79: Syntax error: ";" unexpected
[Addict@Linux]


The strange thing is...
I only get the error when I add somthing to the file.
When I just run the setup, don't change anything and exit, there is no error
When I run the setup, and remove/change something, save the file and exit, there is also no error...

For example,
when I add the -lcoll12 to the config line
I get the error.
when I remove -lcoll12 again, or change it to -lcoll15
there is no error

The error also show it's an error on line #79 (?)
but the file is only 78 lines ???

since this is the bottom part of the file
Code: Select all
II;;
         start) str;;
          stop) stp;;
       restart) stp;str;;
         newip);;
        status) [ -f /etc/issue ] && cat /etc/issue
           ;;
esac

I'm wondering if there needs to be an ;; below or after the esac command ???


I've tried to add it to the network login too, but it seems /etc/issue.net isn't used in FREESCO, oh well sad.gif

Ah well, we can't have it all :upside:
Experience shared, is experience gained.

Thasaidon's Freesco Page




Image
User avatar
Thasaidon
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 9:38 am
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dingetje » Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:59 pm

Although this is *not* the support section and I should probably not respond here:

I can reproduce the error and it's because of a stupid error I've made in the setup) code. I'm editing the same script I called with setup) so this leads to the conflicting line numbers when saved, doh!
I tried to get away for not having to make a config file, but I suppose I'll have to rework the package a bit and add a includable config to fix this problem.

I will post a message here when the package is updated, probably by next week, because I'll be away for the weekend.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Lightning » Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:13 pm

I'm editing the same script I called with setup) so this leads to the conflicting line numbers when saved,

Hmmm, I have done this a number of times with packages in there rc_ scripts and never had a problem. The reason is that the running script is in memory and the edited script is on the drive. I have ran into other very basic scripting that when used in a specific manor can cause some very strange things to happen and usually just changing a couple of things in the script will solve it. In general the fn() that uses cat to print text can cause this type of behavor and either removing it or changing it's parameters will solve it. But I installed the package and I was unable to duplicate the problem myself. Although if you edit the fn() function and you do something as simple as add a single "space" after the last "~" it will beak the script. So it might be prudent to put that section of code into a echo command instead.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12081
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to 3rd Party Package Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests