freesco default text editor

Support section for FREESCO v0.3.x

freesco default text editor

Postby syscon456 » Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:06 am

What kind of text editor is freesco using by default? Is it "vi"
I'm trying to delete empty lines from dhcpd config file.

#Joseph
User avatar
syscon456
Junior Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:35 pm

Re: freesco default text editor

Postby Peppe/Sweden » Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:55 am

Don't know the name of the editor but you simply write
Code: Select all
edit
and file name to edit the file .

Regards , Peter
[COLOR=blue] You mean that I don?t fly airplanes , I don?t have a grilfriend and don?t have a dog ? Buuh , I grow up to be a real loser! (The Kid , walt disney) [COLOR=blue]
User avatar
Peppe/Sweden
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 4:41 pm

Re: freesco default text editor

Postby Lightning » Sat Feb 06, 2010 4:15 pm

While running "edit" use "F1" to view the basic command set. But to delete a line would be to move the cursor to that line and use "ALT-Y". Also as general information the default editor is actually "edt" and there is no other information on this application other than it is REALLY small.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: freesco default text editor

Postby syscon456 » Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:03 pm

Lightning wrote:While running "edit" use "F1" to view the basic command set. But to delete a line would be to move the cursor to that line and use "ALT-Y". Also as general information the default editor is actually "edt" and there is no other information on this application other than it is REALLY small.


I've tried "F1" - when I press "F1" it print letter "P" ;
F2 it print "Q"
I'm logged in via "ssh" ; but yes "ALT-Y" delete the line.

#Joseph
User avatar
syscon456
Junior Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:35 pm

Re: freesco default text editor

Postby Lightning » Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:56 am

The problem is if you are using "PuTTy" or similar SSH client you must configure it in the advanced settings to use "Linux F1 through F4 keys". However on ANY system if that is not available you can use ESC and then 1 or what ever number correlates to the F key from 1 through 10. Be sure you realize those are separate keystrokes.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to FREESCO Support for v0.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron