Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x

Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby bob selby » Mon Mar 29, 2010 3:14 am

These would be a solution to the poor mobile reception we have since we replaced the windows.

They create a "femto cell" by connecting over your broadband connection (so it even works if the general area signal is poor).

What concerns me is how much of the broadband is used by these ---

A. when idle and
B. when making a call

Supposedly they can support up to 4 users.

Anyone had experience of these??

Will they work through freesco?? any configuration tips/issues??

TIA
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby gRenbaJ » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:24 am

I don't have a Vodafone, but I would think you could
pretty easily just monitor its usage yourself, even to some extent right from
freesco.

There are good network monitoring tools available for nearly every platform

I'm sure at the very least, you could use it with, say, a windows box (or whatever it requires) that is hooked up to your freesco router, if you couldn't hook it directly up to your freesco router.

A simple google search unearthed what seems to be some bad news, though, bandwidth wise...

http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=53880

and

http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=50503

depending on how much bandwidth you have.
User avatar
gRenbaJ
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:02 pm

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby bob selby » Thu May 12, 2011 2:16 pm

Has anyone got this working via 040 ???

Wifey, bought one without checking - so guess which poor clod has to get it working :-(

Found this link ... http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Vodafone-Sure-Signal/New-Sure-Signal-Steady-Power-Light-Only/td-p/679063 (see the section towards the end about port forwarding) ... but not sure if I need to do it.

TIA
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby bob selby » Thu May 12, 2011 3:05 pm

OK - I have tried adding the following to the port forwarding section

-- cat /etc/portfw.cfg --
tcp,50,50,192.168.1.22 # ss
udp,4500,4500,192.168.1.22 # ss
udp,500,500,192.168.1.22 # ss
udp,123,123,192.168.1.22 # ss
tcp,8,8,192.168.1.22 # ss

It's still not working :-(

Port 123 is a bit odd to forward ... it is the NTP port ... should I do this??

Do the above make me vulnerable in any way?

192.168.1.22 is the correct IP address for the SureSignal.

Not much hair remaining and "'er indoors" is giving me grief that its not working yet!! Talk about domestic abuse!! ;-)
TIA
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby bob selby » Fri May 13, 2011 1:36 am

This morning it is working using the port forwards shown above ... :-) I gather that sometimes it takes hours to finish registering with the service.

However, my questions still remain re forwarding port 123 and general security.

TIA
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby Lightning » Fri May 13, 2011 9:05 pm

However, my questions still remain re forwarding port 123 and general security.
As it is just forwarded UDP I am doubtful it poses much of a threat and I would definitly hope that the manufacture knows what they are doing. However any open port is always a security issue to some degree no matter what. The ONLY way to have complete security is to cut the network cable just behind the rj45 connector, although I suspect it is probably similar security regardless of where you cut the network cable. ;)
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12080
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby bob selby » Sat May 14, 2011 2:51 am

The ONLY way to have complete security is to cut the network cable just behind the rj45 connector, although I suspect it is probably similar security regardless of where you cut the network cable.
... ahh, but which end of the cable ?? ;-)

Just as well I dont use TokenRing in-house ... if I did then the token would fall out onto the floor and be lost!! (Old Dibert cartoon reference).

What about port 123 ?? Since this is one of the NTP ports is forwarding this not going to interfere with other machines getting time info??

TIA
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby Lightning » Sat May 14, 2011 10:57 am

What about port 123 ?? Since this is one of the NTP ports is forwarding this not going to interfere with other machines getting time info??
No, because other internal clients are using masquerading. So the actual port they are using is outgoing to that port and incoming somewhere above port 42,000+ or so.
(Old Dibert cartoon reference)
I have seen that one. ;)
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12080
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Anyone have experience with Vodafone "SureSignal"??

Postby bob selby » Sat May 14, 2011 11:18 am

OK - Many thanks :-)
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK


Return to FREESCO Support for v0.4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron