DNS only

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x

DNS only

Postby Zedde » Sat Jul 04, 2015 3:13 am

Hello,

I have been running for FREESCO as primary firewall for several years until last winter.
When I moved over to pfSense as firewall but as there was no easy way to implement a host blocking service I keeped my freesco box as dns server only.
It's working fine but I don't want it to act as DNS for my local network. I like it to forward all DNS request that is unknown to my pfSense.

Now I just get FREESCO IP address when I try to ping a system that is registered on pfSense only.
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: DNS only

Postby Lightning » Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:36 am

I suspect in order to do what you are asking you will need to run FREESCO as a second firewall and connect it as a normal router behind your other firewall.

Using a double NAT is fairly common.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: DNS only

Postby Zedde » Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:38 am

Can pfSense still be default gateway and DHCP server?

For it sounds like a DNS server should forward all unknown request to it's primary DNS server.
Not giving it's own Ip address when it can't find "server.inet" in it's hosts file.
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: DNS only

Postby Lightning » Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:14 pm

I am sometimes a little slow on things, but try changing FREESCO's domain to something other than your local domain. Like ".enet" instead of ".inet" and see if it does what you are wanting.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: DNS only

Postby Zedde » Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:53 am

Thanks, that worked.
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden


Return to FREESCO Support for v0.4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron