Freesco 0.45 DNS freeze after a while

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x

Freesco 0.45 DNS freeze after a while

Postby Dutchblack » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:18 am

Hi all, I have installed freesco0.45 successfully .
But after a while my connection to the internet from inside the lan wil stop.
I can ping from the freesco but no access from within the lan.
Freesco is accessible trough putty but most of the time not trough the panel.
rc_firewall restart or rc_net restart won't help only a full reboot will help.
Can some body help me with some advice?
User avatar
Dutchblack
Senior Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Freesco 0.45 DNS freeze after a while

Postby Lightning » Fri Dec 11, 2015 11:34 am

I need a "report.txt" attached to your post. Type "report" on a command line and then use the "/boot/report.txt" file. But if the DNS is failing for some reason which does happen on specific hardware it will usually happen on a specific interval and can be restarted automatically with a "crond" job. Try "rc_dns restart"
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Freesco 0.45 DNS freeze after a while

Postby Dutchblack » Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:28 pm

Here is my report.txt
thanks in advance.

Cheers
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Dutchblack
Senior Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Freesco 0.45 DNS freeze after a while

Postby Lightning » Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:13 pm

# [Network 0]
SDHCP=y #DHCP client
DHCPDNS=y #DNS via DHCP
INTNAME0=eth0 #Interface
IPADDR0=192.168.178.18 #IP address
NETMASK0=255.255.255.0 #Netmask
NETWORK0=192.168.178.0 #Network address
BRDCAST0=192.168.178.255 #Broadcast address
IPRANGE0="" #DHCP server IP range
# [Network 1]
INTNAME1=eth1 #Interface
IPADDR1=172.16.0.1 #IP address
NETMASK1=255.255.255.0 #Netmask
NETWORK1=172.16.0.0 #Network address
BRDCAST1=172.16.0.255 #Broadcast address
IPRANGE1="172.16.0.10 172.16.0.50" #DHCP server IP range

The first thing that I would do is to put your Gigabit network card on your internal network. This can be done easily in the setup by changing eth0 to eth1 on network 0 and vice versa for network 1. Then just switch the network cables on the cards and restart the system after saving the new configuration with "rc_main restart". This will improve your network response times noticeably.

With regards to your DNS issues unfortunately there is no known cause of why the DNS fails on some systems and not on others. However there is a work around that should resolve the symptoms. In the setup under "servers" go to "Crond" and enable it again and edit the configuration and add this line.
Code: Select all
0  4  *  *  *  rc_dns  restart  >/dev/null  2>&1

This line will automatically restart the server 4 minutes after midnight every day. This is of course assuming that the DNS has been failing after two or three days of operation, which has normally been the case in this type of situation.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to FREESCO Support for v0.4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron