Page 2 of 2

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:50 am
by bob selby
>> Errrrr ... how do I add attachements to posts on this forum??? I'll be damned if I can see how.
>> Bob

OK I posted the attachments in the main 0.40 support forum, since there doesnt seem to be anyway to do it here ... bizzare.
Bob

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:21 pm
by dingetje
I've changed the rights for registered users for this forum, so should be able to attach stuff here too now.

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:05 pm
by bob selby
OK ... here are the screen shots ...

Bob

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:17 am
by dingetje
Lightning has prepared a whole new package for iftop and after all that work still gives me credit for the package by calling it iftop_0.17_dingetje. :oops: :wink:
However, before releasing the package, we'd like you Bob to test it and see if the new package fixed things.

The new binary is linked against a new version of the ncurses library:
[root@Freesco] ldd iftop
libm.so.5 => /lib/libm.so.5 (0x119000)
libncurses.so.5 => /lib/libncurses.so.5 (0x122000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x163000)
libc.so.5 => /lib/libc.so.5 (0x174000)


Here's how to test it (for Bob only!):

Uninstall the old package:
Code: Select all
pkg -u iftop_0.15_dingetje


Install the new package:
Code: Select all
pkg -i http://dingetje.homeip.net/packages/0.4.x/iftop_0.17_dingetje.pkg


However, this may not install the new libraries because they're already on your system, so we need to force library overwrite with:

Code: Select all
cd /pkg/lib
snarf -n http://dingetje.homeip.net/packages/0.4.x/non-package/libpthread.so.0
snarf -n http://dingetje.homeip.net/packages/0.4.x/non-package/libm.so.5.0.9
chmod +x libm.so.5.0.9
chmod +x libpthread.so.0
pkg -rescan


Now you should be able to test iftop 0.17 using the new ncurses library as well as corrected versions of the libpthread and libm libs.
Please give it a go and let us know if this fixes the screen corruption.

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:00 pm
by bob selby
After a quick test it seems much better :-)

I'll leave it running for 24 hours and see how it goes.

Thanks guys :-)

Bob

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:42 am
by bob selby
After 24 hours it still looks good :-)

Thanks guys

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:37 am
by dingetje
Thank you Bob for testing!

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:01 pm
by lgrfbs
a littel ot, but still on libncurses.so... file, this is a image from the mc-4.6.0-lightning install.
DSC00252_a.jpg

Shall I press "Y" on this?

Re: iftop ... screen being corrupted ...

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:59 pm
by Lightning
Shall I press "Y" on this?
Yes or No will make no difference. In the 04x series there are a couple of different versions of that library, but they all work just fine. There was only an issue with one library that was in the beta package for iftop that was of concern.