Cannot connect SSH

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x 3rd Party Packages

Cannot connect SSH

Postby strampke » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:54 pm

Something has gone wrong, but I don't know what.
Since very very long I connect to WORK with Putty, ssh tunnel en TightVNC
Perfect!
Up till a few days ago.
I cannot connect anymore.
The IP address @work didn't change
My ADSL modem has a port open for SSH.
I can connect from inside the LAN to Freesco
I cannot connect from outside.
I shut off Snort
I changed from HD install to floppy install
Nothing!
As a change in Freesco didn't give a change in accessibility the problem probably is in the modem or the provider shutting of higher ports.
But a hint to where to start or continue searching might help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Who knows knows, who doesn't doesn't.
User avatar
strampke
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 12:36 pm
Location: Delden, Netherlands

Re: Cannot connect SSH

Postby Lightning » Sat Mar 12, 2011 6:20 pm

It looks like your modem is what mainly controls your Internet connection and because you have tried multiple ways with FREESCO that is one place to look. However I also see quite a few ban entries from snort
be,66.220.156.0/24,800,1200
be,66.220.156.0/24,1300,1700
be,69.63.0.0/16,800,1200
be,69.63.0.0/16,1300,1700
be,65.54.165.0/24,800,1200
be,65.54.165.0/24,1300,1700
be,65.54.186.0/24,800,1200
be,65.54.186.0/24,1300,1700
be,94.100.0.0/16,800,1200
be,94.100.0.0/16,1300,1700
be,213.199.164.110,800,170
be,213.199.164.110,1300,1700
be,128.242.0.0/16,800,1200
be,128.242.0.0/16,1300,1700
be,128.242.245.212,800,1200
be,128.242.245.212,1300,1700
be,83.96.131.10,800,1200
be,83.96.131.10,1300,1700
be,217.148.82.132,800,1200
be,217.148.82.132,1300,1700
be,93.186.180.102,800,1200
be,93.186.180.102,1300,1700
So be certain that you are not listed in the list and because of your particular problem. I would recommend removing all of the entries from the /etc/restrict.cfg

I also see a secondary issue with your network cards in the fact that eth1 and eth2 are both using IRQ 9. So I would recommend either moving one of the cards to a different slot or making some adjustments in the BIOS to get them on different IRQ's
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Cannot connect SSH

Postby strampke » Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:07 am

Lightning, you have pointed to the weak spot.
I don't know how, but Freesco functioned without a problem and then it stopped alowing outside connections through SSH.
Today I removed the good old 3COM fast ethernet card and the magic happened.
It works as before.
Thanks for your advice.
Have a nice sunday.
Hein
Who knows knows, who doesn't doesn't.
User avatar
strampke
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 12:36 pm
Location: Delden, Netherlands


Return to 3rd Party Package Support for FREESCO v0.4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron