128 Mb Non-package

3rd Party Package Requesting

Postby svebo » Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:06 pm

Hi,

I would like to install a 128 MB ramdisk and run freesco completely from RAM.
I found, what I thought was a package, on <a href='http://lewys-spot.dyndns.org:1080/packages/non-package/128MB-ramdisk' target='_blank'>http://lewys-spot.dyndns.org:1080/packages...e/128MB-ramdisk</a>

Can somebody make an installable package out of this?

Thanks
User avatar
svebo
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:26 pm

Postby Peppe/Sweden » Thu Dec 13, 2007 4:08 pm

This feature is new in Freesco 0.3.8 and was made by Lightning with the intent that an advance user should be able to add a bigger ramdrive.

If I where you , I should read the instructions how to make a bigger ramdrive and then just do it.
I have tried it and if you´r unable to make it work , post a new post under Freesco 0.3.x support .


And , Good luck! :)
[COLOR=blue] You mean that I don?t fly airplanes , I don?t have a grilfriend and don?t have a dog ? Buuh , I grow up to be a real loser! (The Kid , walt disney) [COLOR=blue]
User avatar
Peppe/Sweden
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 4:41 pm

Postby Lightning » Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:07 pm

There is a set of addon ramdisks that are included in the addons-038.zip file for use in 038. In essence all that is required is to pick the ramdisk size that you want and copy it to the OS in the root directory and then modify the boot loader for the ramdisk size in Kb and when the extra ramdisk is enabled in manual mode with that size specified it will load it as the ramdisk.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12081
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to 3rd Party Package Requesting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron