Internet Speed

If it does not fit any where else, then post it here.
SPAM is not allowed, here or any other forums

Postby strampke » Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:55 pm

Hi,

Since yesterday or maybe a bit earlier internet speed dropped dramatically.
Yesterday and today I cannot reach sourceforge.net, other sites are slow.
Freesco forum runs as usual.
Any idea? (Dingetje, Marc, same @home network?)

Strampke
Who knows knows, who doesn't doesn't.
User avatar
strampke
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 12:36 pm
Location: Delden, Netherlands

Postby dingetje » Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:09 pm

No problems on my end, speed seems normal, no problem reaching sourceforge.net
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Marc » Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:55 am

Hi Strampke,

Sourceforge is too slow to be reached from here and at the moment I use a very fast 100 MB internet connection at work. So that has to be a problem with sourceforge.net.
No problems with other sites at the moment from here.

This evening I will try my @home connection and edit this post to report.

Some remarks:

Check out if a windows client is the problem. I had too many darn updates this week with my XP.
Check out the errors and dropped packets in freesco.
Check out if freesco connects just as slow as the clients behind freesco.

Home download with @Home 1246.2 KByte/sec (=9970 kbps) = good.
Sourceforge.net works, not fast but OK.

Marc
Marc
pc1mh.nl.eu.org
User avatar
Marc
Senior Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 3:42 pm
Location: The kingdom of the Netherlands, Twente

Postby strampke » Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:37 pm

Oh lonesome me...

I called custumer service (7min 12 sec to get in touch with a human being)

The simple solution was to unplug the modem for about 5 minutes so it could set up a fresh connection. (due to changes @ @home)

Freesco simply works (perfect) and does it job perfect, it cannot cope with a bad connection from my ISP.

Strampke
Who knows knows, who doesn't doesn't.
User avatar
strampke
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 12:36 pm
Location: Delden, Netherlands

Postby Marc » Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:47 pm

AAAAArgh,

Forgot all about it. I had the same thing about a year ago.

'Reset the cable modem' should be high on our list of troubleshooting. Followed by 'reset the hub/router' and then check the cables.Then call the ISP. Then after all else is proven correct turn your attention to the freesco box.

Marc
Marc
pc1mh.nl.eu.org
User avatar
Marc
Senior Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 3:42 pm
Location: The kingdom of the Netherlands, Twente


Return to Other Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron